Basic Music Theory:

0 comment(s) so far...have your say!

Parts of a Guitar : Neck, Fret board, Inlays

qrcode for - Parts of a Guitar : Neck, Fret board, Inlays
The neck of the guitar has a series of long metal pieces dividing the neck into the following: The first piece is called the nut. The part of the neck above the nut is called the head. The remainder is called the fret board. The rest of the metal pieces divide the fret board into individual frets.

These frets are numbered from nut (0) to 19, 22, etc – vide Fig. 1. These are also referred to as positions. The 3rd, 5th, 7th, 9th, 11th, 12th(double dots on the 12th fret indicate the end of an octave for each string starting from nut), 15th, 17th, 19th, etc frets have either “dots” or polygons drawn or studded on. These are referred to as “inlays.” These are markings to help find the required positions. Each fret indicates a semitone variation with respect to the fret above and below (vide next chapter).

Electrics or hybrids have an output (jack port) through which a wire runs to the effects controller or the amplifier. They also have at least a volume control and a tone control knob placed on the face of the body. Some even have a “tremolo arm.”

Most guitars come with a strap to help carry it on the shoulders during standing performances.

Continue...Guitar Accessories...

Liked 'Parts of a Guitar : Neck, Fret board, Inlays' enough to share / save?

Parts of a Guitar : Neck, Fret board, Inlays

Comments: 0 comment(s)...have your say!

BasicMusicTheory Tip:

Tune your guitar before you start playing.^Top^

# Hosted for free on / "Powered by Blogger." Get yours today at
# The material collected and made available through these sites is exclusively intended for private study, research & to provide study material for musicians - in good faith. (Copyrights)
# This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Kindly read the Terms of Service & Privacy policy and continue only if you agree.
# Copyrights, wherever applicable: IndianGuitarChords.Blogspot.Com (™ ©) / Arindam Sarkar © - MMVIII - MMXVI