Basic Music Theory:

0 comment(s) so far...have your say!

Indian Classical Music Notation System : Śruti

qrcode for - Indian Classical Music Notation System : Śruti
Basics of the Indian System:

At the core of the Indian notation system are four concepts:

1. Śruti (or Shruti): Meaning “sound” in Sanskrit. It is the smallest difference between two sounds of a tuning system - thus it may me considered to be equivalent to a note. It is often referred to as a ratio of the two frequencies under study. Various ratios exist and each has its own name. “Unison” of the western system is termed as “Kshobhini.” In classical times there were 22 shrutis in use dividing the octave into 22 notes.

Indian Classical Music:

Liked 'Indian Classical Music Notation System : Śruti' enough to share / save?

Indian Classical Music Notation System : Śruti

Comments: 0 comment(s)...have your say!

BasicMusicTheory Tip:

Tune your guitar before you start playing.^Top^

# Hosted for free on / "Powered by Blogger." Get yours today at
# The material collected and made available through these sites is exclusively intended for private study, research & to provide study material for musicians - in good faith. (Copyrights)
# This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Kindly read the Terms of Service & Privacy policy and continue only if you agree.
# Copyrights, wherever applicable: IndianGuitarChords.Blogspot.Com (™ ©) / Arindam Sarkar © - MMVIII - MMXVI