Basic Music Theory:

2 comment(s) so far...have your say!

What is it 12-TET?

qrcode for - What is it 12-TET?
The system of dividing the octave into 12 notes is referred to as the "Twelve - Tone Equal Temperament (12-TET)", which is the standard for almost all the music we hear.

Equal temperament is a system of tuning in which every pair of adjacent notes has an identical frequency ratio.

In equal temperament tunings an octave is divided into a series of equal "steps" i.e. equal frequency ratios, ascending in a geometric progression.

It is the present standard method of dividing the any octave of frequencies. Thus, the 12 steps we get are the 12 notes - A A# B C C# D D# E F F# G and G#, the following A being the 1st note of the next octave (double in frequency of the previous lower A).

Liked 'What is it 12-TET?' enough to share / save?

What is it 12-TET?

Comments: 2 comment(s)...have your say!

naveen kumarsaid...


Arindam Sarkarsaid...

it is very interesting.

BasicMusicTheory Tip:

Tune your guitar before you start playing.^Top^

# Hosted for free on / "Powered by Blogger." Get yours today at
# The material collected and made available through these sites is exclusively intended for private study, research & to provide study material for musicians - in good faith. (Copyrights)
# This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. Kindly read the Terms of Service & Privacy policy and continue only if you agree.
# Copyrights, wherever applicable: IndianGuitarChords.Blogspot.Com (™ ©) / Arindam Sarkar © - MMVIII - MMXVI